Software intro­duc­tion

The intro­duc­tion of new software is a challenge for many compa­nies. The aim is to actively shape an econo­mi­c­ally viable compro­mise between organi­sa­tional requi­re­ments and technical possi­bi­li­ties, to involve future users in a meaningful way and to prepare them for system deploy­ment. This does not only apply to the intro­duc­tion of trans­port manage­ment systems, but is especi­ally true here, since estab­lished planning processes often have to be renewed. This means that a critical part of the company is subject to a signi­fi­cant change.

We meet this requi­re­ment by provi­ding experi­enced trans­port experts in a software project who know the trans­port planning processes to be renewed very well. The software intro­duc­tion is often preceded by a consul­ting project aimed at optimi­zing trans­port logistics.

The follo­wing topics are not to be unders­tood as ranking, all topics are important.

Project manage­ment

Project manage­ment appro­priate to the project is a prere­qui­site for a successful software intro­duc­tion. When it comes to project manage­ment, we are concerned with planning and calcu­la­ting the necessary activi­ties and control­ling and monito­ring their imple­men­ta­tion.

Contract

The services to be provided for both sides are clearly described and clear to all project parti­ci­pants. The customer knows what to expect and we know what to do.

Coope­ra­tion with the customer

On our site as well as on the customer’s site, one respon­sible person is appointed. These two ensure that the necessary activi­ties are carried out on both sides in a timely and appro­priate manner.

Launch strategy

A complete change-over in one step (Big Bang) is often necessary, but also has disad­van­tages. Experi­ence has shown that a step-by-step intro­duc­tion is manage­able, reduces the stress factor for those respon­sible for the project and allows faster benefits in relation to the time axis.

Risk manage­ment

Drawing up a specific risk check­list at the start of the project and regularly reviewing it over the course of the project allows the planning of preven­tive and contin­gency plans («act instead of react»).

Key User principle

Users who play a key role in the use of the software should play a key role in defining, deploying and imple­men­ting the software. Their task is to ensure that the technical requi­re­ments are met and to pave the way for accep­tance of the new solution.

Data migra­tion

The transfer of data from legacy systems to the new software is usually a complex task. In the rarest cases it is reduced to a simple provi­sion (data export) and proces­sing (data import). As a rule, data conver­sion at the logical level is necessary, often less is more!

Indivi­dual adaptations

X4fleet is a standard product, but standard back and forth — there comes a day when even the most powerful parame­te­ri­za­tion capabi­lity comes to an end and indivi­dual software adaptation becomes necessary. Examples of this are inter­faces to other systems, indivi­dual document layouts, in-house evalua­tions and lists, special pricing proce­dures, and so on. We conti­nuously ensure a trans­pa­rent view and commu­ni­cate when the standard is left or threa­tens to leave.

Open Points List

During the course of a software intro­duc­tion, numerous details arise that require further proces­sing, e. g. software errors that result in correc­tions, new requi­re­ments to be evaluated, ideas for impro­ve­ment that can be integrated into future software releases, etc. With this list, we conti­nuously ensure a common view of the status of the imple­men­ta­tion.

Documen­ta­tion

In the course of the intro­duc­tion of software, a series of indivi­dual rules and appoint­ments are created. We endea­vour to record these in writing and make them avail­able to us and the customer. An important element in the documen­ta­tion is the JIRA, where all tasks and incidents are described and their resolu­tion is documented. The JIRA also serves as a FAQ for the support in asses­sing events.

Sofwareein­führung

Die Einfüh­rung neuer Software stellt für viele Unter­nehmen eine Heraus­for­de­rung dar. Es gilt, einen wirtschaft­lich tragfä­higen Kompro­miss aus Anfor­de­rungen der Organi­sa­tion und system­tech­ni­schen Möglich­keiten aktiv zu gestalten, die zukünf­tigen Anwender sinnvoll zu betei­ligen und auf den System­ein­satz vorzu­be­reiten. Dies gilt nicht nur für die Einfüh­rung von Trans­port­ma­nage­ment­sys­temen, hier aber durchaus beson­ders, da oft auch etablierte Planungs­pro­zesse zu erneuern sind. Damit wird ein erfolgs­kri­ti­scher Unter­neh­mens­teil einem signi­fi­kanten «Change» unter­worfen.

Wir tragen dieser Voraus­set­zung Rechnung indem wir in einem Software­pro­jekt auch immer erfah­rene Trans­port­ex­perten zur Seite stellen die die zu erneu­ernden Trans­port­pla­nungs­pro­zesse bestens kennen. Oft geht der Sofwa­re­ein­füh­rung auch ein Beratungs­pro­jekt mit dem Ziel der Optimie­rung der Trans­port­lo­gistik voraus.

Die nachfol­genden Themen sind nicht als Rangfolge zu verstehen, alle Themen sind wichtig.

Projekt­ma­nage­ment

Ein dem Vorhaben angemes­senes Projekt­ma­nage­ment ist Voraus­set­zung für eine erfolg­reiche Software­ein­füh­rung. Beim Projekt­ma­nage­ment geht es uns darum, erfor­der­liche Aktivi­täten zu planen und zu kalku­lieren sowie in ihrer Umset­zung zu steuern und zu kontrol­lieren.

Vertrag

Die für beide Seiten zu erbrin­genden Leistungen werden klar beschrieben und sind allen Projekt­be­tei­ligten klar. Der Kunde weis was er zu erwarten hat und wir wissen was wir zu leisten haben.

Zusam­men­ar­beit mit dem Kunden

Sowohl auf unserer Seite wie auch der Seite des Kunden wird je eine verant­wort­liche Person bestimmt. Diese beiden stellen sicher, dass auf beiden Seiten die notwen­digen Aktivi­täten zeit- und sachge­recht geleistet werden.

Einfüh­rungs­stra­tegie

Ein Komplett­um­stieg in einem Schritt (Big Bang) ist oft notwendig, birgt aber auch Nachteile. Eine schritt­weise Einfüh­rung verläuft erfah­rungs­ge­mäss kontrol­lier­barer, reduziert den Stress­faktor bei den Projekt­ver­ant­wort­li­chen und erlaubt bezogen auf die Zeitachse schnel­leren Nutzen.

Risiko­ma­nage­ment

Sich zu Projekt­be­ginn eine konkrete Risiko­ch­eck­liste zusam­men­zu­stellen und diese im Projekt­ver­lauf regel­mässig durch­zu­gehen, erlaubt die Planung von Präventiv- und Eventu­al­plänen («agieren statt reagieren»).

Key-User-Prinzip

Anwender, die im Einsatz der Software eine fachliche Schlüs­sel­rolle spielen, sollten bei der Defin­tion, der Bereit­stel­lung und bei der Einfüh­rung eine zentrale Rolle spielen. Ihre Aufgabe ist es, die Abdeckung der fachli­chen Anfor­de­rungen sicher­zu­stellen und Wegbe­reiter für die Akzep­tanz der neuen Lösung zu sein.

Daten­mi­gra­tion

Die Übertra­gung von Daten aus Altsys­temen in die neue Software ist meist eine komplexe Aufgabe. In den seltensten Fällen reduziert sie sich auf eine einfache Bereit­stel­lung (Daten­ex­port) und Verar­bei­tung (Daten­im­port). In der Regel ist eine Daten­um­wand­lung auf logischer Ebene notwendig .Oft ist weniger mehr!

Indivi­du­ellen Anpas­sungen

X4fleet ist ein Standard­pro­dukt, aber Standard hin oder her – es kommt der Tag, an dem auch die noch so leistungs­fä­hige Parame­tri­sier­bar­keit am Ende ist und eine indivi­du­elle Software­an­pas­sung notwendig wird. Beispiele hierfür sind Schnitt­stellen zu anderen Systemen, indivi­du­elle Belege-Layouts, hausei­gene Auswer­tungen und Listen, spezi­elle Preis­bil­dungs­ver­fahren usw.. Wir stellen laufend eine trans­pa­rente Sicht sicher und kommu­ni­zieren wann der Standard verlassen wird oder ein Verlassen droht.

Offene-Punkte-Liste

Im Verlauf einer Software­ein­füh­rung entstehen zahlreiche Details, die einer weiteren Bearbei­tung bedürfen, z. B. Software­fehler, die Korrek­turen zur Folge haben; neue Anfor­de­rungen, die zu bewerten sind; Verbes­se­rungs­ideen, die in zukünf­tige Software-Releases integriert werden können usw. Mit dieser Liste stellen wir laufend eine gemein­same Sicht auf den Stand der Einfüh­rung sicher.

Dokumen­ta­tion

Im Zuge der Einfüh­rung einer Software entstehen eine Reihe von indivi­du­ellen Regeln und Verab­re­dungen. Wir bemühen uns diese schrift­lich festzu­halten und uns und dem Kunden zugäng­lich zu machen. Ein wichtiger Baustein in der Dokumen­ta­tion ist für uns das JIRA, hier werden sämtliche Tasks und Vorkomm­nisse beschrieben und ihre Behebung dokumen­tiert. Das JIRA dient damit auch dem Support als FAQ bei der Beurtei­lung von Ereig­nissen.